The ‘letting go’ weekend…

Valentine’s Day, it’s like marmite, people either love it or hate it but this weekend for me started on Thursday evening when my boyfriend came over. I was talking to him about how I always ruin it when we are together as I get so stressed, his response? Why don’t you just not think about it and just go with the flow?
What?! How could you suggest such a thing?! I can’t not think about what’s going to happen or what we are going to do for food, your too fussy for that!
Somehow I ended up promising him that I would try my hardest not to stress and to just unwind and enjoy whatever we do together.

For me this was really hard to do, as having anxiety you end up over thinking everything! And I mean EVERYTHING. But I put my all into it and really tried for him, the result? I had such a good weekend! I’m still surprised and I’m sat here snuggled up against him watching a James Bond! This is the first time I’ve just chilled in a long time and I’m actually really enjoying it, I know it’s hard to just let go but by just refusing to get stressed and annoyed about things I’ve enjoyed myself so much more! As a result I am now starting my ‘positive thinking’ journal, I am going to write down what happened in my day and say what the positive things were about it, I know it sounds cliche but i would seriously recommend this πŸ™‚

I am excited to see if it helps πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

