In a World of Loneliness…

Even when you are surrounded by people, the world can still feel lonely. In fact it takes quite a lot for some people to admit they’re lonely, but loneliness itself is sometimes hard to pin point in your own head. I say this because there are times when you are surrounded by people, either at work or if you just go out with friends and you don’t quite feel yourself but you don’t understand why, I mean you’re with your friends and having fun right? You can’t be lonely?

Wrong. Loneliness can cause depression and cannot really be diagnosed itself. Over the past couple of weeks the idea of loneliness for me has been thought about quite a bit when one of my work colleagues turns round out of the blue and asked if I was lonely. Me?! Of course i’m not lonely! It was after I had said this when I realized that actually…I am. Yes I have admitted it, even though i’m at work most days and live with my landlords the next, yes I am lonely. For me it’s a very frustrating concept, because I moved from home I don’t have a lot of friends in the area and my friends don’t live close and I can’t drive yet so meeting up with people is hard! I also like having my own space, but over the past few weeks on my days off I keep wishing I had someone who I could meet up with, even if its just for a quick coffee and chat. I feel as though I don’t do anything fun and am not a person who had loads of hobbies. I also always make excuses as to why I can’t do things, which is part of the problem I guess!

I know there are a lot of people out there who are lonely so if that person is you I hope that you can help yourself sort it out, if you need anyone to talk to i’m happy to listen…

Leave a Reply

