The Body Confidence Edit…

We all have those days where we feel so rubbish and down about ourselves and the way we look, but what can we do to change it?

At the time of feeling rubbish probably not much! Well that is the honest reply anyway but that doesn’t mean you can’t try things. Whether you want to feel better or whether you are just stuck in a rut – stop and think. Is it really as bad as you think? No. It’s never as bad as we think. In our modern-day society both men and women have so much pressure on them to look a specific way and this doesn’t even include fashion, makeup and hair! Men feel the pressure to get a six-pack and somehow be able to lift ridiculous weights to appear ‘manly’. Forget about whether they have a good personality, can make you laugh and understand you, nope, that is out the window guys! As long as you have rippling muscle definition – then you are a man. Women, its similar just without the rippling six pack, we have to be toned, skinny with perfect skin. AS IF! In fact research has shown that men prefer women curvy and vice versa, with other research showing that physical appearance isn’t the most important thing to either sex. Yet despite this we still look at ourselves with disgust.

I am definitely one of those people. I am not afraid to say that I’m not happy with my appearance, i’m curvy and whilst i’m not big I am not toned and this bothers me. I look in the mirror and see a bit of podge on the bottom of my stomach and instantly remove the outfit i’m wearing. Whether I should feel like this or not, there is no denying that I could do something about it but don’t always have the motivation. I do prefer to wear baggier clothes as then you can’t see my ‘rolls’ and if it was socially acceptable I would live in pajamas for no other reason than the fact that they are comfy. Sometimes I just wear a baggy hoodie to feel better about myself that day; other days I’ll feel brave enough to wear something a little more figure hugging.

As a daily mantra I am trying to tell myself that I, a 22-year-old woman, am me. There is nothing wrong with me or anyone around me. Why should it matter to people if I have a bit of podge or that I’m not toned. If I looked at someone with a figure hugging dress and curves I would think they look beautiful and that everyone both men and women have different body shapes, sizes and types. The pressure put on us is ridiculous and unfair, we are all different and realistically, without surgery, it is impossible to look like we feel like we are expected to.

I guess my message from this is that everyone is different, embrace it. We are all going to have the days where we feel rubbish about ourselves but trying to be a size six model isn’t going to help anyone! Love yourself. Enjoy life, be healthy and do what makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

