Disclaimer | Renee Knight

Hi all,

I decided I want to start getting back into book reviews. I am such an avid reader and I set up a category within my blog for books, however, shamefully there is only one on there! So today I decided to re-start, not that I ever really started, the book category. Disclaimer is a book I actually first heard about on Audible. Since then I was waiting to pick it up in store, which I finally did!

  • Genre – Thriller
  • Title – Disclaimer
  • Author – Renee Knight
  • Rating – 4/5

‘Imagine if the next thriller you opened was all about you’.


This quote is on the front of the book and is what attracted me to it in the first place. The story centers around the main protagonist Catherine who picks up a book only to find that it is about her and a secret she has kept hidden for years…until now…


The book opens right at the point Catherine recognizes herself in the book and this sets the scene for the next few chapters. As you can imagine the book starts off pretty fast paced and you are thrown into the basis of the book head first. Throughout the book the chapters switch between the present and the past, each recounting versions around the event which, throughout the majority of the book you are lead to believe that Catherine is in the wrong and that she kept her secret to protect herself.

As the book continues and more and more characters become integrated into the novel the true events slowly begin to unravel which leads to a shocking twists to finish on.

The actual book itself I found mostly fast paced and the only bit I struggled with was after the first few chapters of the book, as it started so quickly I was left wondering where it could possibly expand to! The feeling didn’t last too long though and I ended up really enjoying the book and the progression. Although I enjoyed the book I did find that some of the character development was lacking, the husband for example had minimal development and background yet he suddenly became a figure you both hated and sympathized with at the same time who then became more insignificant at the end. I also found that Catherine’s son Nick lack lustre, he annoyed me throughout the book an I felt as though he was skimmed over especially at the point of finding out he takes drugs, I kept wondering why as although he didn’t have a close relationship to Catherine initially there was no explanation for him suddenly taking drugs and struggling to maintain a job.

Overall I would still recommend this book to anyone who is interested as the end for me was so gripping and made me forget my initial frustrations with the characters, completely redeeming it to a 4/5! For comparison this book has been compared to Gone Girl, and although I see some similarities, dark secret, troubled marriage, I am not completely  convinced it is comparable. Saying this I cannot think of a book I have read that is comparable.


Have you read this? What do you think? Let me know your thoughts below 🙂

Leave a Reply

